From Neverland to New York

This will be my first post, to mark the start of my Once Upon A Time blog. Feel free to offer constructive criticisms of my writing and share your own ideas about OUAT in the comments section.

Be forewarned- I intend to write these entries with the idea that you are familiar with the show, and know the characters and actors involved.

The latest OUAT episode, “The Crocodile”, gave us more of Rumplestiltskin’s back-story.

The episode revealed what happened between Rumple and his wife Milah, and how Captain Hook ties into Rumple’s story.  Also, the episode gave us our first step into Neverland- which most fans have suspected, would come into play soon.

I know for a fact that I’m not the only fan that started jumping up and down and squealing, when Hook said they were going to Neverland. It wasn’t even when he said “Neverland” – it was those few seconds right before he threw the magic bean, and you just knew, he was going to say it. I’m SOOOOO excited for OUAT to visit Neverland.

As I’ve already said, many fans have suspected that Neverland was coming, eventually. In fact, Peter Pan has sort of been an almost, go-to answer, when fans have been met with the tasks of discovering the identities of some mystery cast members. I wouldn’t assume people have considered Cora to be Peter Pan, but Peter Pan has been thrown out there to identify, August, Dr. Whale, and most recently, our mystery man that was seen walking through the streets of New York, at the beginning of season 2.

If anyone needs to be reminded, August turned out to be the sexiest Pinocchio in the world (of course you remember, I just wanted to talk about August a little longer).

Dr. Whale- though David Anders, has worked so hard to keep it a secret is___ [I’ll keep my mouth shut about it, for now- in case someone didn’t actually ‘get’ the ABC promo that blew the suspense…]

The question left, is for the new guy, we seen in New York.

Is our newest mystery-man, Peter Pan?

That question has been thrown out there. Among other theories, fans have suggested that he is Bae, which seems to be the most popular theory. Also, I’ve seen people suggest he’s Robin Hood, The White Rabbit (of Alice and Wonderland), and possibly Henry’s father.

Just recently released, are the synopsis and photos for episode 6 of season 2, titled “Tallahassee”, which promise to give us a look at Emma’s back-story. Among these photos, are some very revealing images that hint to the identity of this mystery-man.

I was wrong about August and Dr. Whale, but it’s still fun to try and guess what our OUAT creators are cooking up for us.

There are other things going on in the synopsis for “Tallahassee”, but I’m going to stick with the portion of it I’m concerned with for right now- the part that hints to Emma’s back-story- which is definitely something I’ve been waiting for.

Here’s the part of it I’m focusing on right now: “…Meanwhile, Emma’s past is revealed to be anything but magical when she meets up with a fellow thief who wants to make an honest woman out of her.” ~ taken from http://onceuponatime.wikia.com/wiki/Tallahassee

We know just from that we’re getting Emma’s back-story, but then these photos…

Emma and ‘Neal’. Photo taken from http://www.onceuponatimefans.co.uk.

Emma and ‘Neal’. Taken from http://www.onceuponatimefans.co.uk.

[I just realized- Eion Bailey mentioned for his audition, he read lines from Bonnie and Clyde. Any chance he was considered to play this ‘thief’?]

All I can say right now is OMG. There are several stills of Emma in her yellow bug, sitting with our mystery-man we saw in New York. The information out, as of now, reveals his name to be Neal Cassady, so I’ll start calling him Neal, but I’m not sure if that’s his name yet. That could just be a place holder. If it is Neal, I can bet it’s not his real name.

Here’s the fun part- who is he? I believe these photos, and the hint, from the synopsis, make it pretty obvious. Also, earlier last season I’ve read that the creators have said we’ll meet Henry’s dad in season 2, and I believe I read somewhere, that his identity would be more than Emma realized, and it would be important.

I believe, Neal, is Henry’s father.

Do I believe, this means, he isn’t Bae? No.

I’ve also maintained, with other fans, the theory that Bae is also Peter Pan- which I believe would explain Bae not being dead or a really old man by now. His route to ‘a land without magic’ could have taken him through some other places first. He could have stopped in Neverland first. This brings me back to the starting point, with “The Crocodile”.

I think the actor who plays Neal looks like he could be Henry’s dad, and he also looks like he could be Bae. I think he is, in fact, both – PLUS…

Peter Pan.

It sounds crazy, but come on- Rumple is The Beast, The Crocodile, and for all we know The Cowardly Lion. Our, OUAT creators know how to add layers to these stories.

I believe when Captain Hook visits Neverland and realizes this lil’ boy with his fairy companion (of course Tinker Bell) is Rumple’s son, Bae- he’ll want nothing else, but to get his vengeance on Rumple. For all we know, Cora is the one who tells Hook, who this ‘Peter Pan’ is.

Maybe, Bae really enjoyed it in Neverland, and decided to try and stay, but the curse pulled him out, or he was in our world, and then the curse happened, and he was stuck in our world. He could have from there met Emma. He would have been an orphan himself.

The little part in the synopsis, about the thief wanting to make an honest woman out of Emma- reminds me of Bae trying to ask his father to give up his powers.

Here’s another kicker though- Eion Bailey. Any excuse to talk about August- yes, but here I actually have a point. Eion is going to be in this episode, and I believe it was him (August) who sent that postcard to Neal, to tell him the curse has been broken.  August knew Emma outside of Storybrooke, and he was basically an orphan himself while in our world, so it would make sense he could know Emma’s baby-daddy.  I think a hint to Peter Pan/Bae theorists was in “The Return”, where Rumple asks August, who told him about the dagger.

August told Rumple, “a little fairy.”

Maybe that fairy was Tinker Bell, who he met through Bae/Neal/Peter Pan.

I could be way off on all of this, but these are my thoughts. I can’t take full credit for all these ideas; they’ve been pieced together from what I’ve observed in the show, and from other theories I’ve picked up around the OUAT cyber-community.

I’m not 100% sure about Neal being Bae, but I’m pretty darn sure about Bae being Peter Pan, and even more certain that Neal is Henry’s father. We’ll see if it all comes together as I’ve laid it out here. If I’m wrong, then- oh well.

Anyways, to anyone who took the time to read this, thank you, and hope to hear from you on your theories.

Leave a Reply

